site logo

Executive Council

AAPP Executive Council Members

Awais Aftab, M.D.
Attending Psychiatrist
Northcoast Behavioral Healthcare
Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services
Northfield, OH 44067
awaisaftab@gmail.com

Robyn Bluhm, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Philosophy/
Lyman Briggs College
Michigan State University
rbluhm@msu.edu
Homepage

Jeffrey D. Bedrick, M.A., M.D.
Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Drexel Psychiatry
Jeffrey.Bedrick@DrexelMed.edu

Phoebe Friesen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Biomedical Ethics Unit
Department of Social Studies of Medicine
McGill University
phoebe.friesen@mcgill.ca
Homepage

Justin Garson, Ph.D.
Professor of Philosophy and Chair
Department of Philosophy
Hunter College, CUNY
jgarson@hunter.cuny.edu
Homepage

Douglas Heinrichs, M.D.
5034 Dorsey Hall Dr
Ellicott City,
MD 21042
(410) 964-6486
dwheinrichs@gmail.com

Edwin L. Hersch M.A., M.D., F.R.C.P.(C)
Psychiatrist (in Private Practice)
Adjunct Professor, Graduate Program in History and Theory of Psychology,
York University.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
(416) 480-0042
edwinhersch@gmail.com

Ginger Hoffman, Ph.D., Ph.D.
Department of Philosophy
Saint Joseph’s University
5600 City Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19131
ginger.hoffman@sju.edu
Homepage

Brent M. Kious, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychiatry
University of Utah
501 Chipeta Way
Salt Lake City, UT 84108
brent.kious@hsc.utah.edu

Aaron Kostko, Ph.D.
Department of Philosophy
University of Dayton
Dayton, Ohio 45469-1546
akostko1@udayton.edu

Robert S. Kruger, Ph.D.,
Private Practice of Psychology,
29 East Main Street,
Westport, CT 06880
(203) 227-2161
drrskruger@gmail.com

Paul Lieberman, M.D.
Professor (Clinician Educator)
Department of Psychiatry and Human Behavior
The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
35 South Angell Street, Suite #2
Providence, RI 02906
Paul_Lieberman@Brown.EDU

Christian Perring, Ph.D.
Adjunct Full Professor
Department of Philosophy
St. John's University
cperring@yahoo.com

James Phillips, M.D.
Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
Yale School of Medicine
88 Noble Avenue
Milford, CT 06460
james.phillips@yale.edu

Douglas Porter, M.D.
Staff Psychiatrist
Central City Behavioral Health Center
New Orleans, LA
(504) 361-6500
douglasporter@cox.net

Nancy Nyquist Potter, Ph.D.
Emerita Professor, Department of Philosophy
Adjunct, Department of Psychiatry and
Behavioral Sciences
University of Louisville 40292
Homepage

Claire Pouncey, M.D., Ph.D.
Eudaimonia Associates, LLC
1315 Walnut Street, Suite 1700
Philadelphia, PA 19107
(215) 545-9700
cpouncey@rcn.com

John Z. Sadler, M.D.
Daniel W. Foster Professor of Medical Ethics
Professor of Psychiatry & Clinical Sciences
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Chief, Division of Ethics
Department of Psychiatry
Editor-In-Chief: Philosophy, Psychiatry, & Psychology
UT Southwestern
5323 Harry Hines Boulevard
Dallas, TX  75390-9070
John.Sadler@UTSouthwestern.edu

Miriam Solomon, Ph.D.
Professor of Philosophy
Department of Philosophy
Temple University
msolomon@temple.edu
Homepage

Kathryn Tabb, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Department of Philosophy
Bard College
Homepage

Şerife Tekin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Philosophy and Medical Humanities
University of Texas at San Antonio
Department of Philosophy and Classics
1 UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
serife.tekin@utsa.edu
Homepage

Jonathan Y. Tsou, Ph.D.
Professor of Philosophy
Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies
Iowa State University
Homepage

G. Scott Waterman, M.D., M.A.
Professor Emeritus, Department of Psychiatry
University of Vermont
Burlington, Vermont 05405
Scott.Waterman@uvm.edu

J. Melvin Woody, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus, Department of Philosophy
Connecticut College
New London, Connecticut 06371
jmwoo@conncoll.edu

Peter Zachar, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology
Associate Dean, College of Sciences
Auburn University Montgomery
P. O. Box 244023
Montgomery, AL 36124-4023
pzachar@aum.edu
 

Emeritus Members

Jerome L. Kroll, M.D.
Professor of Psychiatry Emeritus
University of Minnesota Medical School
Community-University health Care Clinic
2201 Bloomington Avenue south
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55404
University of Minnesota Medical School
kroll001@umn.edu

Jennifer Radden, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita
Philosophy Department
University of Massachusetts at Boston

Louis A. Sass, Ph.D.
Department of Clinical Psychology
GSAPP – Rutgers University
152 Frelinghuysen Rd.
Piscataway, New Jersey 08854-8085
LouisSass@aol.com